Call for papers and posters



Download call for papers

Download call for short papers and posters

The main areas of interest are:

  • Acoustics, Diffusion, Sonorization
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Artificial Life and Evolutionary Music Systems
  • Audio Hardware Design
  • Audio Digital Signal Processing
  • Computer Aided Music Analysis
  • Computer Aided Musical Education
  • Computer-Aided Musicology
  • Distributed Music
  • Internet and Web Applications
  • Music and Audio in Multimedia Systems and Applications
  • Music Data Structures and Representation
  • Music Information Retrieval
  • Music Notation, Printing, and Optical Recognition
  • Quality of Service for Audio
  • Psychoacoustics and Cognitive Modeling
  • Real-time Interactive Systems
  • Software Systems and Languages for Composition
  • Sound Synthesis


Technical papers, music papers, and posters will be submitted via the EDAS online system starting May, 2005.

  1. Technical papers, up to 12 pages long, are supposed to present original research with scientific contributions.
  2. Music papers, up to 12 pages long, describe the experience of composers and users of computational tools to produce music.
  3. Short papers are up to 4 pages long and describe ongoing research and partial results.
  4. Posters will be selected based on 2-page extended abstracts and are meant to describe unfinished ongoing work.

Papers can be written in English (preferred), Portuguese, or Spanish and must conform to the SBC style. Submissions should be preferably in PDF. Postscript is also acceptable. If you are completely unable to provide your paper in PDF or PS, then Word .doc can be accepted.

SBC paper templates


Submission schedule

Adolfo Maia Jr. (Unicamp, Brazil) Lelio Camilleri (U. Firenze, Italy)
Aluizio Arcela (UNB, Brazil) Luis Jure (U. Republica, Uruguay)
Andrew Horner (HKUST, Hong Kong) Marcelo Gomes Queiroz (USP, Brazil)
Chris Chafe (Stanford U., USA) Marcelo Soares Pimenta (UFRGS, Brazil)
Edilson Ferneda (UCB, Brazil) Marcelo Wanderley (McGill U., Canada)
Eduardo Reck Miranda (U. Plymouth, UK) Márcio Brandão (UNB, Brazil)
Emilios Cambouropoulos (AUTH, Greece) Matthew Wright (UC Berkeley, USA)
Fabio Kon (USP, Brazil) Maurício Loureiro (UFMG, Brazil)
Flavio S. C. Silva (USP, Brazil) Oscar Pablo di Liscia (UNQ, Argentina)
François Déchelle (IRCAM, France) Palle Dahlstedt (Chalmers U. Technology, Sweden)
Furio Damiani(Unicamp, Brazil) Peter Beyls (Hogeschool Gent, Belgium)
Geber Ramalho (UFPE, Brazil) Petri Toiviainen (U. Jyvaskyla, Finland)
Gérard Assayag (IRCAM, France) Roger Dannenberg (CMU, USA)
Hani C. Yehia (UFMG, Brazil) Rosa Maria Vicari (UFRGS, Brazil)
Henkjan Honing (U. Amsterdam, Netherlands) Sever Tipei (U. Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Ian Whalley (U. Waikato, New Zealand) Victor Lazzarini (NUI, Ireland)
Jürgen Bräuninger (U. KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)

Music Papers Program Committee

Carlos Palombini (UFMG, Brazil) Mikhail Malt (IRCAM, France)
Didier Guigue (UFPB, Brazil) Ricardo dal Farra (Un. Nacional de Tres de Febrero, Argentina)
Fernando Iazzetta (USP, Brazil) Robert Willey (University of Louisiana, USA)
Garnett Guy (U. Illinois UC, USA) Rodolfo Cesar (UFRJ, Brazil)
Heinrich K. Taube (U. Illinois UC, USA) Sílvio Ferraz (Unicamp, Brazil)