Call for papers

Download call for papers

The main areas of interest are:

  • Acoustics, Diffusion, Sonorization
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Artificial Life and Evolutionary Music Systems
  • Audio Hardware Design
  • Audio Digital Signal Processing
  • Computer Aided Music Analysis
  • Computer Aided Musical Education
  • Computer-Aided Musicology
  • Distributed Music
  • Internet and Web Applications
  • Music and Audio in Multimedia Systems and Applications
  • Music Data Structures and Representation
  • Music Information Retrieval
  • Music Notation, Printing, and Optical Recognition
  • Quality of Service for Audio
  • Psychoacoustics and Cognitive Modeling
  • Real-time Interactive Systems
  • Software Systems and Languages for Composition
  • Sound Synthesis


Technical papers, music papers, and posters will be submitted via the EDAS online system starting May, 2005. Technical papers, up to 12 pages long, are supposed to present original research with scientific contributions. Music papers, up to 12 pages long, describe the experience of composers and users of computational tools to produce music. Posters will be selected based on 2-page extended abstracts and are meant to describe unfinished ongoing work. Papers can be written in English (preferred), Portuguese, or Spanish and must conform to the SBC style. Submissions should be preferably in PDF. Postscript is also acceptable. If you are completely unable to provide your paper in PDF or PS, then Word .doc can be accepted.

SBC paper templates

Submission schedule
Submission of full papers: June 17, 2005
Notification of acceptance: July 29, 2005
Submission of posters: August 8, 2005
Poster notification of acceptance: August 29, 2005
Submission of photo-ready accepted papers: August 29, 2005
Submission of photo-ready accepted posters: September 12, 2005
SBCM'2005 October 3-5, 2005

Technical Papers Program Committee
Adolfo Maia Jr. (UNICAMP, Brazil) Luis Jure (U. Republica, Uruguay)
Aluizio Arcela (UNB, Brazil) Marcelo Gomes Queiroz (USP, Brazil)
Andrew Horner (HKUST, Hong Kong) Marcelo Soares Pimenta (UFRGS, Brazil)
Chris Chafe (Stanford U., USA) Marcelo Wanderley (McGill U., Canada)
Edilson Ferneda (UCB, Brazil) Marcio Brandão (UNB, Brazil)
Eduardo Reck Miranda (U. Plymouth, UK) Matt Wright (U. Berkeley, USA)
Emilios Cambouropoulos (AUT, Greece) Maurício Loureiro (UFMG, Brazil)
Fabio Kon (USP, Brazil) Oscar Pablo di Liscia (U. Quilmes, Argentina)
Flavio S. C. Silva (USP, Brazil) Palle Dahlstedt (Chalmers U. Technology, Sweden)
François Déchelle (IRCAM, France) Peter Beyls (St. Lukas Art School, Belgium)
Furio Damiani(Unicamp, Brazil) Petri Toiviainen (U. Jyvaskyla, Finland)
Geber Ramalho (UFPE, Brazil) Roger Dannenberg (CMU, USA)
Henkjan Honing (U. Amsterdam, Netherlands) Rosa Maria Vicari (UFRGS, Brazil)
Ian Whalley (U. Waikato, New Zealand) Sever Tipei (U. Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Jürgen Bräuninger (U. Natal, South Africa) Victor Lazzarini (NUI, Ireland)
Lelio Camilleri (U. Firenze, Italy)
Music Papers Program Committee
Carlos Palombini (UFMG, Brazil) Mikahil Malt (IRCAM, France)
Didier Guigue (UFPB, Brazil) Ricardo dal Farra (Universidad Nacional de Tres de Febrero, Argentina)
Fernando Iazzetta (USP, Brazil) Robert Willey (University of Louisiana, USA)
Garnett Guy (University of Illinois, USA) Rodolfo Caeser (UFRJ, Brazil)
Heinrich K. Taube (UIUC, USA) Sílvio Ferraz (Unicamp, Brazil)